Jeff Garrett's Blog

Thoughts, ideas and stories about life

Step 3 – APPLICATION (Inductive Bible Study)

STEP 3 – APPLICATION

Method 1 – Use Jeff Garrett’s “Jesus Christ Acrostic”

Look for “J.E.S.U.S. C.H.I.R.S.T” everywhere!

Joy in your heart? (Ps 19:8)

Example to follow? (or avoid)

Sin to confess?

Understanding and insight?

Something that hinders?

 

Command to obey? (Comfort to receive? Cleansing from guilt?)

Habit to Break? (Habit to begin? Hurt to heal?)

Relationship to mend? (a verse to remember)

Inspired by a promise?

Song to praise?

Truth to believe?

________________

Method 2 – Rick Warran’s S.P.A.C.E. P.E.T.S.

Sin to confess? Do I need to make any restitution?

Promise to claim? Is it a universal promise? Have I met the condition(s)?

Attitude to change? Am I willing to work on a negative attitude and begin building toward a positive one?

Command to obey? Am I willing to do it no matter how I feel?

Example to follow?

Prayer to pray?

Error to avoid? Is

Truth to believe?

Something to praise God for?

 

TAKE AWAYS – Write a 3-paragraph summary of your study below

Paragraph 1 – Summarize your most important observations

Paragraph 2 – Explain your interpretation

Paragraph 3 – How are you going to apply what you’ve learned

 

APPENDIX A – STRUCTURE (notes from Howard Hendrix)

APPENDIX B (notes from Howard Hendrix on Content, Context, Culture, Comparison, and Consulation)

APPENDIX A & B will be included in the final draft and appear on StudyLight.org

 

January 10, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Wow! Thanks for all the hard work on this. I can see where this could be intimidating to try to do all 17 steps but how instructive if a Bible student can make it happen. I’d like to make a commitment to do at least two steps in Observation, and one from each of Interpretation and Application. The weeks I can, I’ll do more. I also think as time goes by and a comfort level is attained with the process that more steps used each week is possible. As you mentioned this will be a work in progress. I love the name Bereans. I will pray that God will be given the glory as His people at Norway seek to know Him more.

    Comment by Susan Wright | January 15, 2011 | Reply


Leave a comment