Jeff Garrett's Blog

Thoughts, ideas and stories about life

Lynn Anderson’s battle with Cancer – Inspiring!

Lynn Anderson is one of my heroes. I love him!

The video below was prepared last year (Feb 26, 2010) for the Oak Hills Church in San Antonio Texas where Max Lucado preaches.

Lynn came to Norway Ave last month (Jan 2011) – his strength and health had improved. He was in remission and God blessed us – Lynn was healthy enough to come to Huntington WV and inspire Norway Ave.

50 years of ministry, rock solid integrity, preaching, prayer, teaching, mentoring discipling, writing and on and on – spiritual disciplines with unwavering consistency.   That’s inspiring!

Lynn is my Moses – my Paul. I will always be his student – and friend.  Before Lynn left Huntington he wrote a little note  on the inside cover of “Talk Back to God”. I’m not going post his note on this blog – but it meant so much to that I copied it – laminated it and taped by my desk for inspiration – notes like that help keep me straight & sober – makes me want to be like Lynn.

My admiration for Lynn has grown even more during battle with cancer.  I was with him in that San Antonio Hospital when he began his chemo & radiation treatment. We walked around the hospital hallway -we laughed, cried and prayed. I listened to him explain his amazing perspective e.g. “Jeff, the big “C” is not “cancer”. The big “C” is Christ, Carolyn and our Children.”   Wow! That’s the kind of faith I need Lord – make me like Lynn. Just go all the way and make me like Jesus!  Lynn is full of Jesus – that is were the inspiration comes from – that’s what makes Lynn’s face so radiant (2 Corinthians 3:18). Shines longer and brighter than Moses.  That is why Moses had to keep going back up on the Mountain – to get his face all glorified-up again. But look at Lynn’s face – no veil and no fading – He just keeps shining brighter and brighter – even as he fights cancer – still smiling and shining because of the glory of God in the face of Jesus .

That’s why Lynn is such an inspiration – he’s full of Jesus!

February 16, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized |

No comments yet.

Leave a comment